Amplimark | Amplified Marketing

Is Your Business Mobile Ready?

June 19th, 2011

Mobile devices have come a long way from five years ago. With more and more mobile devices flooding the marketing, the smartphone is becoming the device of choice for most business elite. Consider following statistics:

  • By 2015, mobile data traffic generated by smartphones and tablets will reach 14,000 petabytes (1 petabyte is equal to 1024 terabytes or 1073741824 megabytes).
  • By the end of 2010, number of global mobile subscribers is over 5.3 billion.
  • By 2016, it is estimated that 44 billion mobile apps will be downloaded.

Sources: Juniper Research, ABI Research, The International Telecommunication Union

As more and more mobile networks deploy 4G technology, mobile apps with huge data reach as well as video streaming on the fly will become standard. While some carriers are coming out with data tiers, cap and throttling to avoid getting bogged down, others have taken a unlimited data approach to attract new customers.

As more and more people switch to smartphones, it is likely that they will start relying on these devices to find them what they want. Voice activated search, GPS location based shopping deals and mobile ads are finding their way into mainstream mobile content channels. What mobile momentum does is far reaching than what internet did 15 years ago. Consumers are able to find your products and services “on the fly” and make instant decisions.

How does your business compete in the changing landscape?

First of all, if you haven’t put any efforts into online marketing, you’re already getting too far behind. You have to have some level of online reach and comfort before you can harvest the full potential of internet. Having a website isn’t enough, it has to do what it is intended to do. Once you are comfortable with your online footprint, next step is to start exploring mobile marketing.

How Do You Approach Mobile Marketing?

While it may seem complicated and difficult to implement, mobile marketing is a natural extension of your online marketing umbrella. For exmaple, having a compliant website for mobile devices is one the first step to improve mobile experience. Some businesses have gone even further by having different versions of their websites for smartphones and tablet devices.

Once you have a mobile compliant website, next step is to gather feedback and improve upon it. Watch for your mobile site visitor statistics and develop future marketing plans based on what your visitors are telling you. Any good mobile marketing firm, including Amplimark can help you with this by creating easy to understand data metrics and developing a strategic plan for your mobile marketing.

Is CPM Advertising Future of Internet Marketing?

March 15th, 2011

CPM stands for Cost Per Milli, also known as “Cost Per Thousand (CPT), is where advertisers pay for exposure of their message to a specific audience. In CPM advertising setup, advertisers pay for every 1,000 impressions of their banners. For example, if a webpage with an advertising banner has 10,000 page views every month and publisher is charging CPM rate of $25, monthly cost for the advertiser would be $250 ($25X10,000/1,000).

Depending upon the traffic and visitor demographic, CPM cost can vary from website to website. In general, CPM pricing varies from $1 to $135. This is a broader range and a website with highly targeted traffic can charge lot more than this upper range. For example, an automotive forum may charge a CPM of $20 since some of the traffic is very general in nature and its quality is hard to quantify. On the other hand if you’re an auto dealer and advertising on the search result pages on autotrader.com, you’re likely to pay a CPM that is close to $80 since traffic is already filtered out and a visitor on these pages is more likely to respond to an auto dealers advertisement.

CPM advertising concept is vastly different that other common methods such as CPC (Cost Per Click). In CPC model, advertisers are only paying for action or clicks. If there are no clicks, advertiser pays nothing regardless of how many times their advertisement was shown. CPC advertising is more common with search network and broader content network. However, niche content networks tend to rely heavily on CPM advertising model.

One of the most attractive features in CPM advertising is the channel targeting. As an advertiser, you can target certain website(s) as well as certain sections (channels) on a website. This flexibility offers more control over the advertising dollars and better performance metrics for the advertiser to measure ROI (Return on Investment).

Are You Ready for CPM Advertising?

It depends on your situation. Most of the smaller advertisers feel overwhelmed by the CPM concept itself. Most of the skepticism and nervousness comes from the fact that in pure CPM model, advertiser may end up paying significant amount of money with no results. This is only true to a certain extend. In CPM advertising model, there is lot more homework for an advertiser to be done upfront. Smaller advertisers often tend to be unprepared for this task due to the large resource and skillset gap. This gap exists because smaller advertisers either don’t want to invest more time and money or they don’t have the budgets to handle this additional work.

On the other hand, an advertiser who has done the legwork upfront, will drive significant return from CPM advertising. Since CPM advertising is banner based, an advertiser will get lot more exposure and branding opportunity than CPC or any other advertising model. Also, cost is not a huge factor if channel selection is done right. For example, a webpage with CPM cost of $20 and a CTR (Click Thru Rate) of 1% will generate 10 clicks for $20 resulting in a CPC of $2. Often this cost is quite comparable to traditional CPC setup while driving more qualified leads from CPM method.

What is in Store?

One of the key features of CPM advertising is lot more flexibility for both publishers and advertisers. There are thousands of content networks and industry specific websites that can be targeted independently. It also levels playing field by eliminating monopoly that Google or Microsoft have on CPC advertising market. Smaller and local advertisers benefits most since they can work the advertising deals locally within their own communities without having to go through a third party such as Google or Microsoft. This should further reduce their advertising cost and improve return on investment.

Web Accessibility 101

September 4th, 2010

Web accessibility considerations are often put on the backburner to cust costs or speed up project delivery. Sometime web designers choose to ignore web accessibility because of a narrow focus on a certain visitor demographic. However, both of these practices can cost dearly in long run.

Every web design project should have a web accessibility checklist and it should be put near the top of the priority list of items to implement.

So what exactly is a web accessibility checklist and what should be on this list?

Web accessibility list is a common sense design practice. If you’re building an office, you’ll consider handicap accessibility options and final design should incorporate these design elements. Web accessibility is the online flavor that represent these design elements. Web accessibility is also important if you want to improve the user experience and usability of your online website.

While web accessibility checklist can be thoroughly detailed and exhaustive, here is a brief and consise summary of common design practices.

1. All images and animations must have an ALT description:
This is just common sense. The Alt attribute describes the purpose of the graphic element. An empty or null alt attribute (alt =”") can also seperate decorative images from the images that convey some information. This can help in separating content from presentation layer is a good design process.

2. Using longdesc attribute to describe content in detail:There is a good reason it is called longdesc. Most of the time designers tend to get lazy and use alt tag instead. However, longdesc should be used to describe content on detail and link to text files that may contain additional details.
Example :

 <img src="/images/population_growth.gif" longdesc="This chart shows population growth in the state of New York, USA."/>
 <img src="/images/population_growth.gif" longdesc="/documents/population.txt"/>

3. Color Considerations:
Sometime we use color to convey certain information. Remember, color definition can change from one plateform to another(example: Windows based PC to Macintosh).
Also, there are people who are color blind. As a good design practice all information conveyed with color should be available if color is removed.

4. Text and Graphics Links:
Links need to make sense and should avoid a guessing game. For example, “click here to download our Brochure” is far more useful than “Click here”.

5. List elements:
Make sure list elements are created using

<ul> and <ol></ol></ul>

instead of background images. It is important to separate design from content as well as avoiding unneccesary data that a user will have to download to consume a list designed with images.

6. Use the latest W3C guidelines:
For example, use

 <strong> </strong>

for bold instead of

 <b></b>

and

 <em></em>

for italics instead of

 <i> </i>

7. If you must use image maps, please make sure you have alt descriptions and redundant text links.

8. Any presentation elements; such as color, font, typeface, object positioning must be controlled by Cascading Style Sheets (CSS).

9. If you use forms on your website, make sure forms use

 <label for="firstname">First Name</label>
<input type="text" name="firstname" id="firstname" taborder="1"/>

10. If tables are used for layout, they must be linearize correctly.

11. If using tables for data, make sure header cells are labeled with

 <th> </th>

a summary attribute in the

 <table> </table>

element to provide description of what
the data is.
Example:

 <table width="95%" border="0" summary="Product pricing information"> </table>

12. A document type declaration (DOCTYPE) is the 1st line of the document (HTML 4.01 Transitional or XHTML) and the lang=”en” or another language tag is declared.

13. Event handlers must have another event trigger (mouse and keyboard)
Example:

 onClick and onKeypress
onMouseover and onFocus
onMouseout and onBlur

14. Don’t get too fancy. do not use blinking or flickering content.

15. Make sure no deprecated HTML code is present.

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